Graduates Praise Honors at Appalachian

The Honors College Commencement was held on May 11, 2018 in the Plemmons Student Union, Parkway Ballroom. With that event we celebrated the accomplishments of 66 students graduating from the Honors College. 


Dean of the Honors College Dr. Jeff Vahlbusch (pictured below) introduced and highlighted the extraordinary achievements of these Honors graduates. Click here for the transcript of Jeff's introductions. 

Each graduate spoke, offering powerful and moving words of appreciation about their Honors experience at Appalachian State. Click here for photos of the ceremony and to see each graduate speaking. 


We welcomed as special guest, Appalachian State University’s Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor, Dr. Darrell Kruger (shown below), who spoke at the ceremony.


Below is a list of our graduates. Click here to see the commencement program listing each graduate's major/s, thesis title, and mentor/s. 

Alice AlblWilliam Johnson   Samuel Plato         
Lindsey Bearss   Rachel Jordan               Elizabeth Pope      
Haley Behm  Zoe KaplanJoanna Powers             
Emily BerdalShaina KatzEmily Rabe          
Sydney Blume                      Jessica Kleean         Nicole Rosenbaum           
Mackenzie Brown     Emma Labovitz                         Carolina Rushing                      
Nicholas Cassidy Mackenzie Laney        Paige Schurter                 
Emily Cluen            Nile LaTowsky          Tanner Sciara                           
Chamian Cruz   Jacob LeBlanc        Lillian Shaw          
Kelly Dancy       Emily Lucero         Margaret Smith    
Amber Daniel                      Cole Maita  Andrew Smith        
Brooklyn Eschenbaugh    Mary Kathleen McCann  Samantha Steyl      
Jaelyn Felder         Caleb McMahon      Brooke Sweeney                                                          
Sean FlahertyAmanda Mericle            Rachel Tapia          
Kelly Flanders  Caitlyn Murray               Connor James Watts     
Evangeline Giaconia  Liam Nield  Ashlyn Whitesell    
Colleen Gillooley     Joseph NuhferLyndsay Wilcox    
Ashley Goodman    Tanner Orders      Natalie Willmschen          
Janet Hammond   Megan Pavelka      James Yoakum        
Margaret Hancock         Ella Perrin  Emily Yontz                   
Lydia Harris    Margaret Ann Pharr        Silas York   
Rebecca Howell      Alyssa Phillips      Emily Young           
  Dominic Ysidron  


Story and photos by:  Garrett Alexandrea McDowell, Ph.D.

Published: Jun 8, 2018 1:49pm